AR - Accelerated Reader

AR Policies and Information

AR Information:

The Accelerated Reading Program or AR is open for students in 1st-4th grades. Students may their AR quizzes in the classroom.

Link to AR:

Looking for an AR Book?


What Is Accelerated Reader (AR):

AR is a computer program that helps teachers manage and monitor children’s independent reading practice. Your child picks a book at his or her own level range, and reads at his or her own pace. When finished, your child can take an AR quiz on the computer.  Passing the quiz indicates that your child understood what was read. AR gives both children and teachers feedback based on the quiz results, which the teacher then uses to help your child set goals and direct ongoing reading practice. Children using AR choose their own books to read, rather than having one assigned to them. This makes reading a much more enjoyable experience as they can choose books that are interesting to them. Teachers and librarians help your child choose books at an appropriate readability level that are challenging without being frustrating, ensuring that your child can pass the quiz and experience success. If your child does not do well on the quiz, the teacher may help your child choose another book that is more appropriate.

In most cases, children really enjoy taking the quizzes. Since they are reading books at their reading and interest levels, they are likely to be successful. Best of all, they learn and grow at their own pace.

What is an ATOS book level?

Book levels are reported using the ATOS™ readability formula and represent the difficulty of the text. For example, an ATOS book level of 4.5 means that the text could likely be read by a student whose reading skills are at the level of a typical fourth grader during the fifth month of school.


What are points?

Every book, that has an AR Reading Practice Quiz, is given a point value. AR points are computed based on the difficulty of the book (ATOS readability level) and the length of the book (number of words). For example, the Berenstain Bears books, which are about 1,000 words long and have an average ATOS book level of 3.5, are 0.5-point books. Hank the Cowdog, which is about 23,000 words long and has an average ATOS book level of 4.5, is a 3-point book. The Sun Also Rises, about 70,000 words long and at an ATOS book level of 4.4, is a 10-point book. Children earn points, or a portion of a book’s points, depending on how well they do on the Reading Practice Quiz. For example, a child who takes a 5-question quiz on a book worth 1 point will earn 1 point for 5 correct answers (100 %), 0.8 point for 4 correct answers (80%), etc. A child who reads a book worth 5 points and takes a 10-question quiz will earn 5 points for 10 correct answers (100%), 4.5 points for 9 correct answers (90%), etc. A child needs to pass a quiz with a score of 60% or higher to earn points.


During the year, incentives (spirit sticks) will be given to students upon meeting their nine-week goal set by their grade level ELA teachers. At end of year awards, students who meet their yearly goal, First Grade - 50 points, Second Grade - 75 points, Third Grade - 100 points, and Fourth Grade - 150 points will receive certificates. All Fourth Graders that reach the 150+ point goal will receive a trophy during the End of Year Awards.

Parents/Guardians access:

Parents/Guardians can request access to their students accounts via their ELA teachers.